Fantastic Fiction Stories

My Game of Thrones Decision

Fire and Blood (Game of Thrones)

Fire and Blood (Game of Thrones) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

About a Month ago I posted THIS post about my conflict concerning the Game of Thrones books, and the HBO series. I was in a dilemma about whether I keep on reading the books past season three or stick to following right along with the show like I did for season one and two.

It was tough because season three of the HBO show ends a little past the half way mark in the third book. 

I book ‘nerded’ out and not only read the rest of the third book but also A Feast for Crows and  A Dance with Dragons. After some thinking I believe it will be fine that I read the rest of the series out so far and here are a few reasons.

  1. The books are simply amazing! Tons of characters so much going on and it just sucks you in with all the drama.
  2. Books four and five take place at essentially the same time, just focus on different characters. I believe the HBO show is following chronologically, so if I didn’t read the books I would be out of order if I tried to read the books along with the show again come season 4 or 5. I  would have to have both books out if I followed the show, book four for Jamie or Cersi, and then i would have to page through book five for Daenerys Targaryen or Tyrion, that would be too confusing.
    by-Marc Simonetti

    by-Marc Simonetti

  3. It is taking George R. R. Martin too long to write the last two books. If I didn’t read them now it could be years before I get to them if I wait a year to read along with each season. At the rate they are going now it is only half a book per season! No way.
  4. Now I get to read book six right when  it comes out! I hate waiting…..

Do you agree? or did I have a good thing going staying in the dark with the HBO series??

One response

  1. I did the same thing. I just hope Martin doesn’t go five years between books again.

    August 25, 2013 at 6:25 pm

Leave a Reply

