Fantastic Fiction Stories

The Republic of Thieves: Read Along Part III

2890090We are now over the hump of the story, this week we read Chapter 6 thru Interlude “Aurin and Amadine”. With twists happening in both major plot lines a lot has happened. Locke and Jean face the wrath of Sabetha in five year game plot. In the Interlude the group is fixing a broken acting company on lies that may backfire, while Locke is still trying to mend and court Sabetha all at the same time some mixed success. I would like to thank Lynn’s Book Blog for being the amazing host this week. Only two more weeks left!

Below are my answers to Lynn’s questions.  Here is Part I and Part II if you want to catch up.

— The election competition.  Sabetha isn’t wasting any time throwing pranks at Locke and Jean.  Mostly it seemed fairly harmless, or at least not overly serious, until they were kidnapped and put onto a ship and taken out to sea.  What did you make of Sabetha’s latest plan? And what did you think about the way she executed it?

This was probably the biggest moment in the section of the book. We finally get to meet present day Sabetha, as her self, in all her glory.  She hit hard and fast knowing these two very well and should of kept them confined to their rooms on the ship. However the way she pulled it off was excellent. Using her past relationship with Locke and exploiting him. Men always fall for this femme fatel trick, especially with a complicated past romance; this  was too easy for Sabetha.

— During the escape overboard and Jean’s rather subtle nose dive into the water – I was curious about the lights Locke saw deep in the water when he was performing his rescue – Locke thought they looked different once he was under the waves which I suppose they would but he also had the feeling that he was being watched?  Do you think this relates back to the Eldren or some other presence? 

I like your theory but I thought maybe it was just some sea creature that was looking for dinner. But it could be something else, maybe similar to what we saw in the water in book two near the Ghost Islands. The fact that Locke got the feeling that it was hostile leaves me to believe it was some glowing sea predator.
— Given that Locke hadn’t seen Sabetha for five years how did you think their first meeting together went (well, it wasn’t strictly speaking their first meeting of course – were you surprised that Jean and Locke hadn’t figured out that the woman pickpocket was Sabetha?) and also what did you make of Jean and Sabetha’s reaction to each other?

I Didn’t catch onto it until the guys did, I thought maybe she is hiring some good thieves. Makes sense it was her and i thought it was pretty neat. I liked the purse with the GB initials. Jean seams to be the one who has changed the most, he has become  his own person in the last fives and not just Locke’s sidekick or bodyguard as Sabetha saw him as back in Camorr.

–So, the gang have arrived in Espara and already the plans have gone wrong through no fault of their own!  Jail for a year plus lose a hand for slapping a noble?? What do you think of the justice system in Espara and how does this bode for the gang? 
The acting company are finally coming together and we’re watching the gang as they try to read, act and grab the best parts – are you all ‘happy face’ with the whole theatre scenes or, sad face!  Also, I can’t help feeling like this whole storyline is a step out of character for the gang.  Any ideas of how it will play out??

I really like these parts of the book. There not as stressful as the present because you have some sort of sense that everything will be alright. It is mainly a character building spot which I love. The way they get Moncraine out of his sentence is pure genus. Seeing Locke and Sabetha work together was amazing. They are such a great team together when pulling a job off. It was funny when Locke thought he would get Aurin and he didn’t; his whole “I would love to….wait what?” priceless. I see what you mean it is out of character but remember they are still young and this is another training exercise that Chains has sent them on. They already cleared his debts and they are to learn how to become better actors which is pretty much what they do every time they pull a heist. Also as we found out that they are not in clear water Boulidazi is going to cause some big problems for the troupe and the Gentleman Bastards.
— We are also being introduced to a number of new characters, particularly Moncraine and Boulidazi.  What are your first impressions of these two and the other new characters in the Company and any particular likes or dislikes so far?

I enjoy these new characters, I think I am just all happy face for anything Lynch throws in my face, he could be like George Martin and be like Game of Thrones with way to many characters to follow and I would still like them because it was Lynch’s characters. (Maybe not that many characters please). These two and the rest of the acting troupe are great. Boulidazi is going to be the big antagonist of this plot line clearly. I hope they can rob him dry.
— The rooftop scene and the apology.  How did it all go so wrong?  And how will Locke get out of this latest fix with Boulidazi?

Poor poor Locke….he was so close to getting in with Sabetha. The whole time in this chapter I was like Kiss Her! Kiss Her! when are they going to kiss! Struck out with the red hair comment. He should of known there was some red hair fetish in Camorr and some reason why she always kept her hair dyed. To bad he will have some time to make it up but now he has more precedent problems with Boulidazi over hearing their whole conversation! What! I mean whole told him they were both up there? Jean? He knew Locke went up there to have a private conversation with Sabetha out of character. I have no clue how they are going to get out of this. Maybe he didn’t hear the names or anything and Sabetha can explain that Locke is still his cousin and just lied to Boulidazi about not wanting to be with her. I don’t think that is the case and they might be screwed. They will figure some wacky way out of it. Cannot wait to find out how they do.

What do you all think of my answers? Like them? agree? disagree? let me know!

Also here are some other responses

Many a true nerd

Genkinahito’s Blog

Over the Effing Rainbow

Just Book Reading

Violin in a Void

Little Red Reviewer

All I am a Redhead

Dab of Darkness

21 responses

  1. Pingback: Republic of Thieves Read-Along Week Three Answers | Genkinahito's Blog

  2. Sabetha’s trick was awesome. I just didn’t see it coming and I couldn’t believe what I was reading. Locke is such a dope. I didn’t catch on about the woman actually being Sabetha. I thought she was hired help.

    The whole red hair thing came out of the blue for me when I read it. I’m going to look back in the first book and Locke’s encounter with one of the Gilded Lilies to see if there’s anything about it in there. Otherwise, I sympathise with him. The chap is just pouring out his feelings and he doesn’t/can’t censor himself because it might be his last chance. Poor Locke.

    November 11, 2013 at 7:47 pm

  3. Pingback: Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch, readalong week 3 | Lynn's Book Blog

  4. I absolutely didn’t see Sabetha’s trick coming at all. So it was quite brilliant for shock value alone.
    A big shiny sea creature – creepy.
    I think I’m all a bit ‘happy face’ with anything Lynch writes as well.
    And now you mention it, I suppose it’s a bit odd that Lynch has never heard of the red hair thing??
    Lynn 😀

    November 11, 2013 at 8:26 pm

  5. “Jean seams to be the one who has changed the most, he has become his own person in the last fives and not just Locke’s sidekick or bodyguard as Sabetha saw him as back in Camorr.” – Very true. It’s a bit of a shame that Jean gets sidelined once the Locke/Sabetha plot starts kicking off, because he’s such a wonderful character!

    November 11, 2013 at 9:49 pm

    • I agree but jean even mentioned that he is glad to take a step back once Locke was feeling better. Not sure he likes all the attention. I think he will still have some major role in the 5 year game.

      November 12, 2013 at 2:35 am

  6. Pingback: Scott Lynch: The Republic of Thieves read-along #3 | All I am - a redhead

  7. It’s going to be fun seeing them deal with Bouldazi. And as they are such a great team when working together on a scam, I wonder what they will come up with as the explanation. 🙂 Can’t wait actually!

    November 12, 2013 at 9:39 am

    • They will, lie, trick, manipulate there way out of this. Bouldazi is already stuck, he has invested his own money and freed Mancraine. what can he really do now?

      November 13, 2013 at 11:18 pm

  8. I’m inclined to think that the lights have something to do with the Eldren or are significant in some way, just because that wasn’t the kind of scene that Lynch just throws in for fun.

    You’re right, the Espara scenes are a lot less stressful. It’s got lots of drama, but has a cushioning effect in between the uncertainties of the Karthain plot. At least in Espara we know that no one in the gang is going to get their throats cuts…. It just occurred to me, for the the first time, that Sabetha might die in this book. I really hope that doesn’t happen.

    November 12, 2013 at 12:42 pm

    • Yes, I hope they are too, some kind of world environment setting, like the spooky things in Red Seas that we saw. Or some underwater Eldren structure, Maybe that is where they went to escape the current world.

      November 12, 2013 at 5:42 pm

  9. “What! I mean whole told him they were both up there?” Good point. I mean, I would think even Calo and Galdo wouldn’t want to jeopardize their game, and surely they would know “Locke & Sabetha sittin’ on a rooftop” != “Good time for them to chat with the mark”. I can’t wait to see how they get out of it, though.

    November 12, 2013 at 2:01 pm

    • I Know! When Lynch does this I almost want to skip the 5-year game chapter and just read the next Interlude. I guess this is why Chains sent them out, to learn to work as a team, and this was a team slip up.

      November 12, 2013 at 5:36 pm

      • Calo and Galdo are too busy trying to die of alcohol poisoning.

        and now I remember why I used the word “cockblocking” in my review of this book!

        November 13, 2013 at 11:55 am

      • I know right! Not much but mischief for those two! They need to start pulling their weight.

        November 13, 2013 at 10:18 pm

  10. Pingback: The Republic of Thieves read-along part 3 | Violin in a Void

  11. Yay for kissing! I’m not usually a romance reader, but put it in a fantasy environments, and I’m all about the “kiss her already, you idiot!”

    I do like how much character development Jean has gotten in the last few years. Chains brought him in originally to be a bruiser who could also read, write, rithmatic. But the guy really has been seen as bodyguard, and it’s not fair to him. There’s a reason so many people are swooning over Jean. He’s not as dopey or as arrogant as Locke, he actually thinks ahead, and it’s pretty much Jean who keeps everyone else from doing the *really* dumb stuff.

    The lights under the Amathel, i agree they’re significant somehow, but I have no idea how. Would be cool if there was some Eldren stuff under there. Maybe like how the Eldren towers of Camorr reflect the sunlight way after sunset, the stuff under the water is reflecting light they’ve collected during the day?

    November 13, 2013 at 11:54 am

    • I like the way you look at the Eldren stuff, forgot about the way the light works in their buildings. Everyone loves jean he is a great character. He is very sure of himself and every action he takes, when Locke kind of just does things and hopes for the best. Very Risky while Jean is more calculated.

      November 13, 2013 at 10:20 pm

  12. Sabetha seems to view Jean as some sort of rival for Locke’s affections or loyalties. I am not too sure yet. But she makes more than 1 comment about their friendship in both the past and the present. So, yes, it is good to see Jean as his own person, even if Sabetha often sees him as some sidekick and nothing else. Perhaps Sabetha is jealous that she never had a deeply loyal friend like that?

    November 14, 2013 at 9:35 pm

  13. Amy

    Seeing Locke and Sabetha work together is great. If only they could do that more often! They make a great little team and I love how enamored Locke becomes with Sabetha when she really gets going in character.

    Good point — where was Jean when they were on the roof!? It’s be interesting, and I think maybe slightly amusing, to see how they get out of this one.

    November 15, 2013 at 7:42 pm

  14. Pingback: The Republic of Thieves: Read Along Part IV | Joma's Fantasy Books

Leave a Reply

